Open Collective
Open Collective
Open Source Collective Community Call — March '22
Published on March 9, 2022 by Richard Littauer

Join us every third Thursday for Open Source Collective Community Calls. Next call is on March 17th @ 6pm UTC (1pm EST, 10am PST). Check https://opencollective.com/opensource/events to register.

Last year, we launched the Open Source Collective's Community Call program: a monthly, hour-long conversation where we encourage project leaders to engage with Open Source Collective as their host, and with one another. We will use this space to discuss issues that are affecting us, offer peer support, and as a jumping-off point for further conversations about sustaining our work.

This year, we're hoping to continue that program with gusto. In order to run these calls more smoothly, we've hired a dedicated community development manager - Richard Littauer (that's me, I'm writing this). Richard has a long history of holding spaces for open source maintainers, with his work at SustainOSS, OSPO++, the Digital Infrastructure Fund, and his own consultancy, Maintainer Mountaineer.

If you missed our conversations last year, you can catch up with the past write-ups September, October, and November where we covered:

  - why we (Open Source Collective) want to build a strong, more community-centered fiscal host, and what we hope to achieve with these regular conversations;
  - approaches to paying contributors;
  - defining maintenance and approaches to valuing non-code contributions;
  - building inclusive and diverse communities and;
  - increasing a contributor base and improving developer experience by pairing with new contributors.

We'll continue to record and document these conversations for those of you who are unable to attend. For those of you who can, we look forward to seeing you next week!

Register to attend!



👍️  1