Open Collective
Open Collective

Solidarity Economy 101

An introduction to values, principles, practices, and examples the Solidarity Economy

Monday, October 10, 2022, 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM (UTC-06:00)

Connect


Let’s get the ball rolling!

News from Solidarity Economy 101

Updates on our activities and progress.

SE 101 Recording & Resources Follow-up

Thank you for joining us in our OCF workshop, Solidarity Economy 101, hosted by our program manager, Mike Strode of the Kola Nut Collaborative (c...
Read more
Published on October 27, 2022 by Mike Strode (OCF)

Solidarity Economy 101 Launches In Just Over An Hour!

Join us at 12 pm PT | 1 pm MT | 2 pm CT | 3 pm ET for another public offering from Solidarit...
Read more
Published on October 10, 2022 by Mike Strode (OCF)

About


Join another public offering from the developing Solidarity School where we will dig deeper into the solidarity economy and examine why Open Collective Foundation has made the commitment to deploy our legal, financial, and technical commons as a shared infrastructure in service of this movement.

When OCF made public its ongoing strategy in "Solidarity As A Guiding Principle", we highlighted the solidarity economy as an important part of that reorientation and are committed to taking our entire community with us on this learning journey. We have followed by publishing our strategic plan and 6-month check-in to update our hosted initiatives as this strategy has developed.

Unpacking the solidarity economy through Solidarity School is also part of the way OCF hopes to support public learning throughout the Open Collective ecosystem as we move towards a platform owned and governed by users and stakeholders through an Exit To Community.

This is an introduction to the Solidarity Economy hosted by our program manager, Mike Strode, who serves on the boards of the US Solidarity Economy Network and New Economy Coalition.

During this participatory workshop, we will explore:
  • The meaning and some origins of the solidarity economy (SE)
  • Important distinctions between SE and other economic system frameworks
  • The values and principles of a solidarity economy
  • Examples of projects (Beautiful Solutions) organizing within a solidarity economy framework
  • Ideas for how your work can intersect with practices within a solidarity economy